ARTICLE
Glossary of Terms
FOOD TERMS
ISLAMIC TERMS
KOSHER TERMS
FOOD TERMS
Alcohol (ethanol, ethyl alcohol) - the term commonly used to refer to alcoholic beverages — beverages containing ethanol (ethyl alcohol) — or to ethanol alone. Alcoholic beverages are divided into three general classes: beers, wines, and spirits (vodka, gin, whiskey, etc.). All alcoholic beverages contain the alcohol known as ethanol (ethyl alcohol). In chemistry the definition of 'alcohol' is much broader and includes many other compounds such as isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol and methyl (wood) alcohol.
Animal Rennet, see Rennet (Animal)
Chymosin (Rennin) - the enzyme found in rennet that turns milk into cheese curds. Like rennet, it is found naturally in the stomachs of young mammals, making mothers' milk more digestible for the young, turning it into a cheese-like substance in their stomachs.
Gelatin, Kosher - see "Kosher Gelatin"
Rennet, Animal - a natural complex of enzymes produced in the stomachs of nursing calves (young cows or buffalo), lambs, and kids (young goats), as well as other mammalian (milk producing) animals such as moose, camel and deer. In cheesemaking, animal rennet must come from the same species of animal that produces the milk used to make the cheese.
Rennet, GM ("Chymostar™") - is a type of rennet produced by genetically modified mold (
mucor miehei
) or bacteria (
e. coli, asperigillus niger var awamori
or
k. lacti
). Rennet-producing DNA from a calf is introduced into the microbe's DNA so that it produces rennet identical to that
which a calf produces. Because calf rennet is produced by the microbes, animals are not slaughtered in the production
process. Genetically modified rennet is safe for Muslims who insist on
zabihah
. GM rennet is used extensively (75%-80%) in the commercial cheese production.
ISLAMIC TERMS
Allah (Diety, God) - Allah, the God of Abraham
Fiqh - Islamic jurisprudence. It can also refer to legislation, the product of jurisprudence.
Halal
- An Arabic term meaning "permissible". In Arabic, it is used to refer to anything that is permissible under
Islam; outside of the Arabic speaking world, it generally refers to food and drink.
Haram (حرام) - the Islamic designation meaning "forbidden".
Ilah (deity, god) - a mortal being believed to have supernatural powers. A pagan god.
Imams of fiqh - the founding Imams of Sunni Islam's four major Schools of Thought ( mudhaahib ): Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Malik, Imam Shafi'i and Imam Ahmed ibn Hanbal.
Makhrouh Tahreem (مكروه تحريم) - the Islamic designation meaning "hated". It literally means "something you keep far away from." It is closer to haraam than makhrouh tanzih , but not explicitly forbidden.
Makhrough Tanzih (مكروه تنزيه) - the Islamic designation meaning "disliked". It is not haram , but it is better to refrain from it .
Madh'hab (mazhab, madhhab, مذهب) - an Islamic School of Thought, or fiqh (religious jurisprudence).
Najis (نجس) - in Islamic Law are things or persons regarded as ritually unclean.
Salat - the ritual Islamic prayer.
Shaitan - the devil.
Shari'a (شريعة, sharia) - the body of Islamic religious law. The term means "way" or "path to the water source"; it is the legal framework within which the public and private aspects of life are regulated for those living in a legal system based on Islamic principles of jurisprudence and for Muslims living outside the domain. Shari'a deals with many aspects of day-to-day life, including food, politics, economics, banking, business, contracts, family, sexuality, hygiene, and social issues.
Shirk (شرك) — the Islamic concept of the sin of polytheism specifically, but in a more general way refers to worshipping other than Allah (shirk in Rubūbīyah ), associating partners with Him, giving His characteristics to other than Him, or not believing in His characteristics.
Shirk (food of) — food offered as sacrifice or created in remembrance of a deity other than Allah — is haram for consumption.
Tafsir (تفسير, tafsīr)
- the Arabic word for exegesis or commentary, usually of the
Quran
. It does not include esoteric or mystical interpretation, which are covered by the related word
ta'wil.
An author of
tafsir
is a
mufassir
(
مفسر
).
KOSHER TERMS
Bedika -The inspection of an animal, post-slaughter, to determine whether or not it has any scarring or abnormalities.
Cholov Yisroel ( חלב ישראל ) - a kosher designation referring to any dairy products, including cheese and non-fat dry milk powder, which have been under the supervision of a Jew.
Glatt Kosher - a term used with Kosher meats. Glatt literally means "smooth", and refers to meat where the lungs have absolutely no adhesions (i.e. scars from previous inflammation), meaning the animal was not ever diseased.
Halakha ( הלכה , Halocho , Halacha ) - the collective body of Jewish religious law, including biblical law (the 613 mitzvot) and later talmudic and rabbinic law, as well as customs and traditions. Like Islam, Judaism classically draws no distinction in its laws between religious and ostensibly non-religious life. Hence, as the Shari'a does, Halakha guides not only religious practices and beliefs, but numerous aspects of day-to-day life. Also like Shari'a , Halakha means "the path" or "the way." The word is derived from the Hebrew root that means to go or walk.
Kosher ( kashrut , kashruth , kashrus , כַּשְרוּת ) - food which is fit for consumption by Jews according to traditional Jewish law ( Halakha ). Many of the basic laws of kashrut are derived from the Torah's Books of Leviticus and Deuteronomy, with their details set down in the oral law (the Mishnah and the Talmud ) and codified by the Shulchan Aruch and later rabbinical authorities.
Kosher Gelatin - a type gelatin (a product derived from an animal's skin, carteledge, tendons) coming from any fish
allowed under the laws of
kashruth
.
Note:
for gelatin to be certified as Kosher — to not contain any pig-derived gelatin — the product must be labeled with a
Kosher seal
by a recognized
Kosher Certification Agency
. Under U.S. Federal law, food companies are allowed to use the term 'Kosher Gelatin' on the Ingredients List if THEY
believe it to fall within that category.
Parve - a kosher designation indicating food products completely void of all milk and meat in any form.
Poskim - Authorities on Jewish Law.
Rabbi - the term for a Jewish teacher, or master.
Shechita (שחיטה) - the strict set of guidelines for the kosher slaughter of kosher mammals and birds, according to Jewish law ( kashruth ). Following shechita is a requirement to product kosher meat.
Shochet (שוחט) - A professional slaughterer of kosher meats who is an upstanding Jew that observes the Sabbath.
Treyf ( treif , טְרֵפָה , טרייף ) - food that is not in accord with Jewish law ( Halakha ). Non-kosher food. Reasons for food being considered non-kosher include:
- The presence of ingredients derived from non-kosher animals , or from kosher animals that were not properly slaughtered ;
- Mixture of meat and milk ;
- Cheeses and cheese products , wine or grape juice produced by non-Jews;
- The use of produce from Israel that has not been taxed properly, or;
- The use of cooking utensils and machinery which had previously been used for non-kosher food.
Vaad Hakashrus - a Hebrew term meaning a rabbinical counsel which certifies kosher foods.