Practical food information from an Islamic perspective

IsItHaram.com

ARTICLE

AMNA's haram Catagories, Icons

Haram foods are ingredients, foods or dishes that are made with a haram substance — including ingredients derived from haram sources.

Here is AMNA's list of haram categories and icons, their sources and ingredients that come from them.

ICON NAME This catagory includes any food made from...
alcohol ALCOHOL Alcoholic beverages, alcohol-based extracts, alcohol-derived vinegars, any other product containing or derived from ethanol (ethyl alcohol), as used in cooked and uncooked food .
blood icon BLOOD Blood from any animal is haram for consumption.
dead CARRION /
DEAD
Any land animal that has been killed by suffocation, a blow, by wild animals, by a car, by electrocution, by drowning or by boiling alive is haram for consumption.
donkey DONKEY Donkey and horse (considered makrouh by some mathhab ) and their meat and non-meat products as used in food.
hawwam icon HAWWAM Amphibians (animals living in and out of water): frogs, and turtles.
Animals that crawl on their bellies: snakes, lizards, turtles, snails, worms, etc.
Insects (with the exception of the locust) and rodents such as mice, rat, gerbil, guinea pig, squirrel and their meat and non-meat products as used in food.
primate HUMAN /
PRIMATE
Human, monkey, ape and their meat and non-meat products as used in food.
pork PORK All pigs, wild boar, domestic boar and their meat and non-meat products, whether used in food or non-food items.
predator PREDATOR Dog, cat, opossum (possum), raccoon, bear, alligator, and other taloned or fanged predatory animals and their meat and non-meat products as used in food.
shirk SHIRK Animals or foods ritually sacrificed in the name of a diety other than Allah;
Food that has been created in remembrance of, or as an offering to, a deity;
Food that has been created to symbolically represent a shirk belief.
toxin TOXIN Foods which are known to cause disease, paralysis, death or which contain intoxicants.


What does the question mark ("?") mean on an ICON?

(?) represents both warning and opportunity. It cues Muslims to take a close look at the item description, which contains important information about that food's typical ingredients and method of preparation.

pork_? Seemingly halal foods may be labeled with a (?) ICON if the typical method of preparing that food would put it into contact with a haram item.
AN EXAMPLE: Vegetable Egg Rolls. Labeled as PORK(?)
In Chinese restaurants, these are typically deep-fried in the same deep-fryer as Sweet and Sour Pork and Pork Eggrolls. This renders the frying oil haram.
halalinquire

Foods that are halal (حلال), but may be prepared in a way to render them doubtful. AND dishes prepared with meats from a halal animal that may not be zabihah (ذبيحة).
Cheeses prepared using animal rennet .
AN EXAMPLE: Spanish Rice (arroz español)
Typically, Spanish Rice is a vegetarian dish. However, meat can be added to it.

alcohol_?
Some foods are haram because of their typical preparation, but may be prepared in a halal fashion. These are also labeled with a (?), allowing Muslims to request that a menu item be prepared without the HARAM substance in question.
AN EXAMPLE: Shrimp Scampi. Labeled as ALCOHOL(?)
Typically, white wine is added to the scampi sauce at the last few minutes of cooking, but can be omitted upon request.
Top