Practical food information from an Islamic perspective

New England Clam Chowder

ARTICLE

PORK? PORK(?)

Clam Chowder is most commonly flavored with salt pork or bacon. Butter is less commonly used. Try our halal recipe for Clam Chowder. A bowl of New England Clam Chowder A bowl of creamy, thick New England Clam Chowder

SPOTLIGHT HALAL:
Clam Chowder

Spotlight Halal is a collection of food and ingredient articles on IsItHaram.com.

WHAT IS IT?

Clam Chowder is a traditional New England seafood soup. It is found on restaurant menus throughout the NorthEast United States and Canada.

The most popular version is the creamy, white New England Clam Chowder. The thick version of New England Clam Chowder is called Boston Clam Chowder while the more authentic thinner, milkier version is called Maine Clam Chowder. Other versions include the clear Rhode Island Clam Chowder and the tomato-based Manhattan Clam Chowder. Other types of chowders include Corn Chowder, Fish Chowder and Seafood Chowder, which are made in the same way that Clam Chowder is, but use a different main ingredient.

HOW IS IT MADE?

Typically, Clam Chowder is made by frying onions, celery and diced potatos in melted salt pork fat. Salt pork is the salted, preserved belly fat of pigs and is used as a flavoring in many traditional American dishes. It is similar to bacon but much fattier and saltier. Butter is less commonly used instead of salt pork, but it is not as popular because it changes the color and flavor of the chowder. Other ingredients include clam broth, diced clams, flour, milk and light cream. Small pieces of bacon are often added for a mildly smokey flavor.

-- Want to make yummy halal clam chowder at home?
See our Halal New England Clam Chowder Recipe . --

WARNING LEVEL: HIGH

As a seafood dish, Clam Chowder is a very popular soup with Muslims, especially with those who observe zabiha . Because salt pork is a fat, not a meat, it cannot be seen by the person eating the chowder; it is almost never listed as an ingredient on restaurant menus. Chowders containing bacon have small, pink bits floating in the soup, making the bacon easier to see.

When eating out, your waiter can tell you if that restaurant's clam chowder recipe uses salt pork or bacon.

CAN MUSLIMS USE KOSHER SYMBOLS TO KNOW IF IT IS HALAL?

NO. Clams are not kosher . Kosher Authorities such as the Orthodox Union OU and K-Star will never certify foods containing clams. When shopping for clam chowder at the supermarket, you must look at the list of ingredients to see if pork, salt pork, pork fat or bacon are listed.

SPECIAL NOTE: ARE CLAMS HALAL?

Clams are halal food in the Sunni methahib : Malaki, Hanbali and Shafa'i. Within the Hanafi School, there are varying opinions. Clams are not halal in the Jafari School, which is Shi'a.


Explore more food articles and recipes.

Top